Blog

When must an accident be reported to DMV?

  Recently the law changed in regards to reporting property damage accidents. As of January 2017 the amount of property damage as measured in dollars ($$$) rose to $1,000.00 from the previous $750.00 requirement. If there was property damage of more than $1,000 ($750 for accidents prior to January 1, 2017) or anyone was injured [..]

Read More

Driving you car for business?

If you drive your car for business purposes be sure and look at the language in your insurance policy. Many regular auto insurance policies do not cover you ( have exemptions ) when the insured is working and using the car for work. For such business activity specific business liability coverage is needed. We recently [..]

Read More

Thoughts for driving this New Years Eve – Intoxicated

For those who plan to drive tonight, here are some facts to keep in mind about intoxicated drivers: FACT: An estimated 32% of fatal car crashes involve an intoxicated driver or pedestrian. (NHTSA) FACT: 3,952 fatally injured drivers tested positive for drug involvement. (FARS) FACT: Over 1.2 million drivers were arrested in 2011 for driving [..]

Read More

New California Vehicle Laws for 2017

Here are some new laws going into effect for 2017 in California: Use of Electronic Wireless Devices (AB 1785, Quirk): Driving a motor vehicle while holding and operating a handheld wireless telephone or a wireless electronic communications device will be prohibited, unless the device is mounted on a vehicle’s windshield or is mounted/affixed to a [..]

Read More

What you say after a traffic accident occurs

1. Be aware that what you say at the time of an accident can have ramifications, and possibly cause you problems – speak little but listen much. 2. If injured do not downplay your injuries. 3. If you can, collect as much information as you can get. 4. Call someone if you can – get [..]

Read More

UIM Under Insured Motorist insurance

Sometimes we wish we could go back in time with our clients to the point where they were purchasing their auto insurance – there we would whisper in their ears – BUY the UIM – its relatively cheap and you MAY NEED it if your in an accident. This is true because so many people [..]

Read More

In a Traffic accident. Do I need an attorney?

    Often when people are involved in a traffic accident they wonder if they need an attorney, or if that will just cause more problems. We at Decker and Buchanan Law office understand this concern, and certainly some accidents can be properly handled without an attorney.  I am mainly referring to an accident where [..]

Read More

Who is at fault?

  I was struck from behind – Is the party that hit me at fault? The answer is usually yes. That is because in California it is unlawful to drive at a speed unsafe for conditions (VC 22350). If you are going too fast to stop in time for traffic ahead, then your speed is [..]

Read More

Injured driving DUI

If the fines, penalties, and loss of license isn’t enough to convince you to not drive while DUI (Under the influence) here is yet another reason. Under California Civil Code § 3333.4 (a)(1) in any action to recover damages arising out of the operation or use of a motor vehicle, a person shall not recover [..]

Read More